Tamarkin named 2013 Smart Grid Pioneer

November 6, 2013
Smart Grid Today names 50 Smart Grid Pioneers of 2013 — Smart Grid Today Press Release

ROCKVILLE, MD, Nov. 6, 2013 — Smart Grid Today named the 50 Smart Grid Pioneers of 2013 today, drawing upon its coverage of the industry over the last year. These are the experts and risk-takers to whom we turned to explain in detail the industry’s most newsworthy moves, insights, advances, setbacks and new concerns.

The group ranges from industry leaders working inside conglomerates like GE and IBM to entrepreneurs at small firms like Retroficiency and TEMIX. It also includes many utility executives, regulators and political figures working on smart grid solutions to electricity challenges around the world.

“These interviews reveal the details of this evolving industry from perspectives that give it depth, with guide markers on what works and warnings about where the risks lie,” Smart Grid Today Publisher Sam Spencer said. “We salute all the pioneers who are forging ahead and invite them to look to the 50 people in this report for guidance.”

The 50 trailblazers selected are:
Ron Binz, principal at Denver-based Public Policy Consulting
Andy Bochman, IBM’s energy-security lead
Mike Carlson, general manager of software solutions at GE,
Edward Cazalet, TEMIX CEO
Steve Cowell, Conservation Services Group CEO
Kevin Dasso, senior director of smart grid at Pacific Gas & Electric
Gregg Dixon, senior VP for marketing and sales at EnerNOC
Patty Durand, Smart Grid Consumer Collaborative (SGCC) Executive Director
Duncan Earl, GridCom Founder
Shashikant Gupta, Apex CoVantage CEO
David Green, Arqiva’s business development director for smart metering
John Halliwell, EPRI senior project manager
Gen Michael Hayden, former director of the Central Intelligence Agency and National Security Agency
Curt Hébert, a partner in the Brunini Law Firm in Jackson, Miss, and a former FERC chairman and a former state regulator in Mississippi
Miriam Horn, director of the smart grid initiative at the Environmental Defense Fund
Rich Huntley, VP of sales at Boston-based Retroficiency
Orjiakor Isiogu, Michigan PSC Commissioner
Philip Jones, NARUC President
John Jung, Greensmith Energy Management Systems CEO
Haresh Kamath, program manager for energy storage research at EPRI
John Kelly, Perfect Power Institute Executive Director
Jim Korczykowski, ECS (Energy Curtailment Specialists), CEO
Dennis Kyle, Tendril’s VP of product service and development
Carolene Mays, Indiana Utility Regulatory Commissioner
Ann McCabe, Illinois Commerce Commissioner
Brewster McCracken, Pecan Street CEO
Doug Myers, CIO at Pepco Holdings
Kenny Mercado, division senior VP of Grid & Market Operations, CenterPoint
Michael Niggli, SDG&E CEO
Kevin O’Donovan, worldwide director of energy sector sales at Intel
Bryan Olnick, Florida Power & Light VP of Smart Grid Solutions and Meter Operations
Andy Ozment, senior director for cybersecurity on the National Security Staff at the
White House
Ravi Pradhan, CTO of the Smart Grid Division of Siemens Infrastructure & Cities Sector in the US
Gary Rackliffe, VP of smart grids, North America, at ABB
Bram Reinders, the head of a Dutch “smart grid mission” to the US
Sixto Santonja, project manager at Spain’s Instituto Tecnologico de la Energia
Scott Saunders, information security officer for SMUD
Chris Shelton, AES Energy Storage President
Gib Sorebo, chief cybersecurity technologist, SAIC (now Leidos)
Tom Tamarkin, Utility Services Customer Link CEO
Kenneth Van Meter, (former) principal consultant at Booz Allen Hamilton
Maria Tereza Travassos Vellano , regional director and head of smart grid projects at AES Eletropaulo
Christopher Villarreal, a senior regulatory analyst in the Policy & Planning Division of the California PUC
Jon Wellinghoff, (outgoing) FERC Chairman
Tom Willie, Current Group CEO
Jeremy Wilson, director of technical sales at Utilidata
Paul Wright of the UK government’s National Physical Laboratory
Kurt Yeager, vice chairman of the nonprofit Galvin Electricity Initiative
Marzia Zafar, director of the Policy and Planning Division at the California PUC
Leocadia Zak, US Trade & Development Agency (USTDA) Director

Smart Grid Today congratulates the 50 leaders for winning a spot on our 2013 Pioneers list.

Originally posted by Smart Grid Today.